What An Audacious Scammer!

Money down the drainThis morning when I was perusing the “Deleted Domain Names” list, I discovered a scammer who had been caught out big time. “Peter Smith” is about to have 41 typo / misspelt domains deleted. The system is working – good on you auDA!

For those that may not be aware, this list shows Domain Names which have been deleted at the request of either the Regulator based on established policy, or the current Registrant.

But this was no ordinary scammer. The descriptions “brazen” and “audacious” seem appropriate. Why? Have a look at the screenshots below. In this particular example, not only did good old “Peter Smith” register a misspelling of Google; he also used the ABN details of the Australian Tax Office to do so!



But Here’s The Big Question

How was he ever able to register these in the first place? Particularly given that the Australian domain space is supposed to be so highly regulated!

The particular Registrar happens to be GoDaddy, so they obviously don’t do a cross match between Registrant name and Registrant ID / Eligibility Type.

I checked with Cam from Drop.com.au, and he told me that their system would automatically reject a mismatch between Registrant name and ABN / ACN etc. So GoDaddy are definitely going to have to improve their front end system for Aussie domains.

Here’s a screenshot of all “Peter Smith’s” domains that are about to be deleted. At least $800 down the gurgler for him.


Ned O’Meara – 22nd September 2016


Disclaimer Domainer

12 thoughts on “What An Audacious Scammer!

  • September 22, 2016 at 11:30 am

    Looks like he successfully scammed himself out of $800!

  • September 22, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    Oh my goodness, it’s so bad you have to laugh. Well done auDA!

  • September 22, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    And such rubbish domains!  It was money down the drain irrespective of the policy delete.

  • September 22, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    Did he use his own credit card, paypal account etc  or someone elses?

    This fraudster probably is doing more than just registering some domain names.

    I do hope Godaddy chases them and at least can provide detail to authorities on their IP how they made payment etc.

    Registrars and monetising parking companies be warned this scam is also a financial one most probably.

    Name Server: ns43.domaincontrol.com
    Name Server: ns44.domaincontrol.com



    • September 22, 2016 at 5:41 pm

      I think you’re right. Surely no one would waste their own money on those domains.

    • September 22, 2016 at 5:53 pm

      @Sean – can you elaborate on what you perceive the scam to be please? Are you suggesting he is being malicious and using someone else’s credit card just to be nasty?

      • September 22, 2016 at 5:58 pm

        Judging by the registrations there does not appear to be enough grey matter in play to be too elaborate

      • September 23, 2016 at 12:03 am

        Perhaps Peter Smith  would be an alias, the registrations have probably been paid with someone elses money without their knowledge and the names monetised, click fraud for profit or used for other purposes.

        There is more to this than just registering them  for any normal use, for sale or development.

        The only place to start would be the IP and the payment details used but I doubt godaddy, auDA etc will bother.

        Obvious fraud at work.



  • September 23, 2016 at 12:11 am

    auDA knows of this problem but seems to have not done much about it. This was well publicised 3 years ago


    “We have a preference that the complaint originates from the holder or an official representative of the business details in question in order to confirm that the complaint is genuine,” said an auDA spokesperson.

    “We can accept complaints from people not associated with the business details, but we would need compelling evidence before we can launch an investigation that the registrant has breached our policies.”


    “This is the first time I’ve seen a block of fake .com.au websites. There is an underlying trust that Australian internet users have with .com.au domains as they are attached to an ABN number. I guess we can’t trust .com.au sites any more until auDA improves its verification processes.”


    • September 23, 2016 at 12:15 am

      Bringing in another Australian extension which is not needed such as direct .au may cause even more problems! auDA needs to forget the additional .au extension idea the registrars and Ausregistry / Neustar Inc want to use to make more money.

      Obviously .com.au has given the Australian community some level of comfort over the years and people know it and most do trust it.

Comments are closed.